Pastor-teacher Don Hargrove

Faith Bible Church

Wed.,  June 10, 2009    


2 Pet 3:18.





 (Messiah & A.C. #225)


A.   Philip 2:5-8; Col 1:15-20; 2:9 & the Hypostatic Union of Jesus Christ. 

            1.  Both the OT and NT affirm  the humanity and deity of Jesus Christ.      

            2.  It is the hypostatic union that enables us to understand what seems to be a clear contradiction between being both God and man, infinite and finite, Creator and creator; it is the hypostatic union that enables us to unite in a single person both omniscience and ignorance, omnipotence and weakness, perfection and perfectibility; it is the hypostatic union which enables us to unite in the one person of Christ the attributes of deity and the attributes of humanity without the former driving out the attributes of the latter, or the latter corrupting the former; it is the hypostatic union which enables us to rationally understand that Jesus is truly God and truly man.

            3.   There are no less than 20 false views about the Person of Christ.  Each one contains a key denial of some aspect of who Christ is; denial of humanity (Gnostic); denial of deity (Ebionite 100-300 A.D.); denial of full humanity (Alexandrian, 200-400 A.D.); denial of distinctiveness of Person (modalism, 215 A.D.); denial of full deity (Arianism, 250): denial of human soul (Apollonarianism, 310-390); denial of unity of Person (Nestorianism, 428); denial of two distinct natures (Eutychianism, 448);  denial two natures (monophysitism, 400s);  denial of one volition of Christ (Diothelitism, 620-683); Denial of eternal deity (adoptionism, 8th century); denial of full deity during incarnation (kenoticism, 19th century); denial of the doctrine or rationality of hypostatic union (existential Christology, Kierkegaard, 19th century); denial of dogma concerning person of Christ (Liberation Christology, 1950); denial of true identity and focus of Jesus Christ, (black “Christology);” denial of true identity and focus of Jesus Christ (feminist “Christology”);  denial of immutability of Christ (process “Christology,” 1940s);  denial of exclusivity of Christ (universalist “Christology);” denial of objective truth (deconstruction/postmodern “Christology);”  denial of the importance of doctrinal understanding of Christ (emergent “church”).   

            4.   The Chalcedonian Creed (451 A.D.)  our Lord Jesus Christ, at once complete in Godhead and complete in manhood, truly God and truly man, consisting also of a reasonable soul and body; of one substance with the Father as regards his Godhead, and at the same time of one substance with us as regards his manhood; like us in all respects, apart from sin; as regards his Godhead …for us men and for our salvation… one and the same Christ, Son, Lord, Only-begotten, recognized in two natures, without confusion, without change, without division, without separation; the distinction of natures being in no way annulled by the union, but rather the characteristics of each nature being preserved and coming together to form one person and subsistence, not as parted or separated into two persons, but one and the same Son…  even as the prophets from earliest times spoke of him, and our Lord Jesus Christ himself taught us, and the creed of the fathers has handed down to us.

            5.   For the first few centuries the principal struggle was between the Alexandrian Logos-man Christology  (Monophysitism) and Antiochene Chistology (Dyophysitism) with the former tending to destroy the full humanity of Jesus Christ while the latter tended to destroy the full deity of Jesus. 


B.   Suffering in the POG, Job 5:7.

            1.  There are two categories of suffering in life:  deserved & undeserved.  The former is designed to correct while the later is designed for advancement.

            2.   Christ learned obedience and humility through undeserved suffering, Heb 2:10; 5:8; Philip 2:5-8.

            3.   We have not only been grace out to believe in Jesus but to also suffer unjustly on behalf of Him, Philip 1:29.

            4.   Part of the supergrace package is undeserved suffering, Philip 3:10.

            5.   Purposes and blessings of undeserved suffering:   knock out human resources that you depend upon; motivate you to depend upon the grace of God; wake you up to the reality of the POG; knock out all human crutches; inculcate genuine humility; create enormous capacity for happiness in blessing or adversity; rid you of your arrogance; teach you that you can be happy even without all of those things….     

                        6.  How a believer handles unjust suffering will determine if he becomes a winner or loser in life. 

            7.  It is impossible to handle unjust suffering let alone parlay unjust suffering in the most fantastic blessing without Bible doctrine, Js 1:2-4.

            8.   All categories of suffering are designed to teach us something, Psa 32:8-9.      

                        9.   The promise of 1 Cor 10:13 is always available to all believers regardless of the circumstances and what type of suffering they might be experiencing.  

            10.   The single greatest area of suffering among Christians has always been a result of carnal spiritual immaturity under the law of VR, Gal 6:7; Hos 8:7; Ecc.

            11.   Only through growth in the Christ-centered life does the believer have the capacity for life, sufferings, and even death, Psa 23; Philip 1:21-24; 4:4, 11-13.

            12.    Undeserved sufferings have the potential to bring you enormous power and blessedness in life, Js 1:2-4. 

                        a)   Power to remove arrogance, 2 Cor 12:7-10.

                        b)   Power of mental stability.  

                        c)   Power of greater grace orientation.

                        d)   Power to force you to stop leaning on human crutches, “weaknesses.”

                        e)   Power over people testing, “insults.”

                        f)    Power over thought testing, “distresses.”

                        g)   Power to glorify the Lord in unfair treatment, “persecutions.”

                        h)   Power to glorify the Lord in disaster testing, “difficulties.”

                        i)    Power to empathize with others, 2 Cor 1:3-10; Heb 2:17-18.

                        j)    Power to refine your faith & move you forward, 1 Pt 1:6-7; Js 1:2-4.

                        k)   Power to glorify Jesus Christ in the angelic conflict, Job.